Students For Liberty attended CPAC this year with the goal of spreading the message of liberty and finding young pro-liberty students to bring into our network.  We were successful with the latter, meeting many young advocates of liberty who were simply unaware that there is an option beyond the typical left/right political spectrum.

However, our greatest accomplishment came in spreading the message of liberty.  SFL’s Executive Director Alexander McCobin delivered a speech praising CPAC for welcoming GOProud as a co-sponsor (a gay conservative group), a symbolic gesture of openness and tolerance.  The response was unexpected:

Alexander McCobin’s speech and Ryan Sorba’s hostile response sparked a media firestorm around the event.  Commentators from all sides of the political spectrum were surprised that McCobin was cheered and Sorba booed off the stage at CPAC.  Diverse media outlets such as The Daily Kos, ThinkProgress, Reason.com, The Daily Caller, The American Conservative, The Atlantic, and Hot Air came to generally the same conclusion: That this year’s CPAC was marked by a never before seen level of libertarianism.

Below is a list compiling the different media sources that have covered the controversy.  As you see they come from varied political and cultural points of view. Without Alexander McCobin’s speech and the support of the  many pro-liberty attendees (thanks to Campaign For Liberty & Young Americans for Liberty for organizing so many liberty supporters), this message would not have reached such a wide audience: “Students today recognize that freedom does not come in pieces.  Freedom is a single concept that applies to the social as well as the economic realms and should be defended at all times”

Special thanks to the Gay Patriot for covering this story and being one of the big organizations that have focused on the full story behind this issue.  The Gay Patriot will be interviewing McCobin tonight (Feb 24) at 10pm EST to discuss the CPAC controversy, Students For Liberty, and the future of liberty.  You can listen to the discussion here: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/gaypatriotamerica/2010/02/25/gaypatriot-interviews-alexander-mccobin.

Ace of Spades: http://ace.mu.nu/archives/298553.php

The Activist Report: http://kevincrouch.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/who-let-neo-nazi-ryan-sorba-have-the-cpac-podium/

The Atlantic: http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2010/02/the-daily-wrap-14.html

The Atlantic: http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2010/02/a-conversation-with-ryan-sorba.html

The Atlantic: http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2010/02/the-weekend-wrap-3.html

The Atlantic: http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2010/02/well-i-dont-really-want-to-shake-your-hand-youre-intrinsically-evil-ctd.html

The Atlantic: http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2010/02/ryan-sorbas-bizarre-fascination-with-homosexuality.html

Alternet:  http://blogs.alternet.org/speakeasy/2010/02/19/cpac-conference-dissolves-into-right-wing-civil-war-over-gay-rights/

Alternet:  http://blogs.alternet.org/speakeasy/2010/02/21/wake-up-progressives-the-right-is-ready-to-rumble-our-side-not-so-much/

The American Conservative: http://www.amconmag.com/blog/2010/02/22/fear-and-loathing-at-cpac/

American Power: http://americanpowerblog.blogspot.com/2010/02/gay-conservatives-after-cpac.html

Amol Kapila: http://www.amolkapila.com/blog/2010/02/conservatives-vs-liberty/

Big Journalism: http://bigjournalism.com/bcarroll/2010/02/23/the-homocon-tipping-point-why-cpac-was-a-milestone-weekend-for-gays/

Big Journalism: http://bigjournalism.com/tag/alexander-mccobin/

Bureaucrash: http://bureaucrash.com/2010/02/19/students-for-liberty-causes-cpac-controversy/

CBS News: http://www.cbsnews.com/blogs/2010/02/22/politics/politicalhotsheet/entry6232080.shtml

Conservative America: http://conservativeamericannews.com/free-republic/my-fight-with-ryan-sorba-the-kid-who-denounced-goproud

Conservative Copendium http://conservative-compendium.com/wordpress/tag/alexander-mccobin/

Countdown with Keith Olbermann: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RGk9pMaEAmQ

C-Span: http://www.c-spanvideo.org/program/292173-101&showFullAbstract=1

Cyber Pulpit: http://reverandsteve.blogspot.com/2010/02/cpac-poll-stopping-gay-marriage-not.html

Daily Caller: http://dailycaller.com/2010/02/20/cpac-speaker-booed-for-applauding-gay-group-invite-video/

Daily Kos: http://www.dailykos.com/story/2010/2/19/182318/406

Daily Paul: http://dailypaul.com/node/126445

The Daily Show: http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/mon-february-22-2010/cpac-2010—rage-within-the-machine

Dallas Voice: http://www.dallasvoice.com/instant-tea/2010/02/22/did-the-end-of-the-world-happen-and-no-one-told-me/

Fox News: http://liveshots.blogs.foxnews.com/author/kelleybeaucarvlahos/

From the Rust Belt: http://fromtherustbelt.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/were-here-were-queer-were-conservative/

FrumForum: http://www.frumforum.com/sorbas-sodomy-obsession

Gay Patriot: http://www.gaypatriot.net/2010/02/20/gaypatriot-on-the-ed-morrissey-show/

Gay Patriot: http://www.gaypatriot.net/2010/02/20/gaypatriot-exclusive-interviewalexander-mccobin-from-students-for-libertythe-student-activist-who-spoke-up-for-goproud-at-cpac/

Gayapolis: http://www.gayapolis.com/news/artdisplay.php?artid=3401

GMU Econ Society: http://gmueconsociety.blogspot.com/2010/02/students-for-liberty-defeats-bigotry-at.html

Good As You: http://www.goodasyou.org/good_as_you/2010/02/video-the-cpacer-whose-boos-are-badges-of-honor.html

Hip Hop Republican: http://hiphoprepublican.com/general/2010/02/19/watch-speaker-ryan-sorba-condemns-cpac-for-inviting-gays/

Hot Air: http://hotair.com/archives/2010/02/19/video-cpac-boos-speaker-for-condemning-invite-to-gay-conservative-group/

Hot Air: http://hotair.com/archives/2010/02/21/cpac-2010-final-thoughts/

How the World Works: http://64.15.120.233/watch?v=lZF1WWZqRB8

Human Events: http://www.humanevents.com/article.php?id=35757

Interstate Q: http://www.interstateq.com/archives/4111/

Iowa Independent: http://iowaindependent.com/28463/ron-paul-victory-shows-ideological-hardening-ahead-of-2010

Lez Get Real: http://lezgetreal.com/?p=26832

Libertarian Curmudgeon: http://www.theliberalcurmudgeon.com/2010/02/gay-conservatives-meet-with-intolerance.html

Libertymaven: http://libertymaven.com/2010/02/20/cpac-day-2-the-constitution-liberty-for-all-ron-paul-and-gary-johnson/8998/

Little General Thrift Store: http://littlegeneralthriftstore.com/NewHotTrends/cpac-conference-dissolves-into-right-wing-civil-war-over-gay-rights/

Lone Star Times: http://lonestartimes.com/?p=1598

The Mario Solis Marich Show: http://gotomario.com/?p=9815

Mike Corthell: http://jedistudis.blogspot.com/2010/02/gay-infiltration-of-conservative.html

Motorcity Liberal: http://motorcityliberal.blogspot.com/2010/02/cpac-conference-dissolves-into-right.html

Musing in Obama’s America: http://musingsinobamasamerica.blogspot.com/2010/02/ryan-sorba-rising-anti-gay-antihero.html

The Nation: http://www.thenation.com/blogs/notion/533056/glenn_beck_dodges_incoming_plane_at_cpac

News Blaze: http://newsblaze.com/story/20100222112135j112.nb/topstory.html

News Busters: http://newsbusters.org/blogs/scott-whitlock/2010/02/22/abcs-john-hendren-derides-cpac-attendees-right-and-far-right

Newsreal Blog: http://www.newsrealblog.com/2010/02/20/cpac-speaker-condemns-cpac/

Now Public: http://www.nowpublic.com/world/ryan-sorba-rising-anti-gay-antihero

Ohio.com: http://www.ohiomm.com/blogs/da_kings_men/2010/02/22/ron-paul-and-gays-at-c-pac/

Oh Yay! A Blog!: http://ohyayablog.blogspot.com/2010/02/on-ryan-sorba.html

Opposing Views: http://www.opposingviews.com/i/ryan-sorba-booed-for-condemning-cpac-s-gay-group-invite

Orange County Register: http://topics.ocregister.com/article/03zQfW8ccU4pi

Ordinary Gentlemen: http://www.ordinary-gentlemen.com/2010/02/the-other-side-of-the-sorba-incident/

Prometheus Unbound: http://santitafarella.wordpress.com/2010/02/21/hostile-and-gay-baiting-ryan-sorba-the-future-of-the-republican-party/

Politics 24/7: http://fromtherustbelt.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/were-here-were-queer-were-conservative/

Politico: http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0210/33250_Page2.html

Politifi: http://politifi.com/news/SFL-Controversy-Video-209479.html

Race 4 2012: http://race42008.com/2010/02/20/my-fight-with-ryan-sorba-the-kid-who-denounced-goproud/

Race 4 2012: http://race42008.com/2010/02/22/what-do-ryan-sorba-and-nelson-rockefeller-have-in-common/

Reason: http://reason.com/blog/2010/02/21/you-know-the-lowlights-here-ar

ReBoot the Republic: http://www.reboottherepublic.com/blog/liberty/wow-libertarians-at-cpac/

Red State: http://www.redstate.com/athensrunaway/2010/02/23/a_flippant_refutation_of/

Renew Ameica: http://www.renewamerica.com/columns/fischer/100220

Right Pundits: http://www.rightpundits.com/?p=5618

Right Side News: http://www.rightsidenews.com/201002228786/editorial/the-gay-infiltration-of-the-conservative-movement.html

Right Wing Watch: http://www.rightwingwatch.org/content/fischer-labarbera-hail-sorba-anti-gay-rant-cpac

Salon: http://vodpod.com/watch/3081483-war-room-salon-com

Salon: http://www.salon.com/politics/war_room/2010/02/19/cpac_gays/

Salon: http://www.salon.com/news/opinion/glenn_greenwald/2010/02/21/libertarianism

Science Blogs: http://scienceblogs.com/dispatches/2010/02/a_conversation_with_ryan_sorba.php

Science Blogs: http://scienceblogs.com/dispatches/2010/02/asshole_of_the_day.php

Signal from the Brink: http://signalsfromthebrink.blogspot.com/2010/02/new-right.html

Student Liberty Front: http://studentlibertyfront.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/international-students-for-liberty-conference-and-cpac/

Think Progress: http://thinkprogress.org/2010/02/23/cpac-paul-rift/

Think Progress: http://thinkprogress.org/2010/02/19/cpac-conference-dissolves-into-right-wing-civil-war-over-gay-rights/

Thump and Whip: http://thumpandwhip.com/2010/02/22/cpacs-most-vicious-homophobe-ryan-sorba/

TPM Muckraker: http://tpmmuckraker.talkingpointsmemo.com/2010/02/ryan_sorba_anti-gay_cpac_activist_court_records.php?ref=mp

TomGPalmer.com: http://tomgpalmer.com/2010/02/22/alexander-mccorbin-on-students-for-liberty/

Townhall.com: http://townhall.com/columnists/AshleyHerzog/2010/02/22/cpac_is_for_lovers

We The People: http://www.wtpshow.com/2010/02/22/cpac-exclusive-podcast-david-keene-hannah-giles-and-ryan-sorba/

Washington Independent: http://washingtonindependent.com/77260/ron-paul-win-shows-ideological-hardening-ahead-of-2010

Washington Times: http://washingtontimes.com/weblogs/watercooler/2010/feb/21/cpac-2010-wrap-planned-and-unplanned-cpac-happenin/

Young Americans for Liberty: http://www.yaliberty.org/node/14835

365 Gay: http://www.365gay.com/blog/022110-monday-watercooler/